On Friday June 26th, the Supreme Court made a landmark decision to hold that the Fourteenth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution requires all states to license marriage between two people of the same sex, and to recognize a marriage between two people of the same sex when their marriage is lawfully licensed and performed out of state.

The thirteen states in the United States that do not recognize same-sex marriage will need to expand the application of the FMLA to grant rights and protections to spouses. Following the revoking of the same-sex rule through the objection of attorney generals in Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, and Nebraska, these states will now need to recognize same-sex marriage for FMLA purposes.

By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies. If you do not accept the use of cookies, simply exit the site. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.